Bharat Bill Payments System (BBPS)

Bharat Bill Payments System (BBPS) is an integrated online platform developed by the National Payments Corporation of India for utility bill payments. The platform provides an interoperable service


We offer BBPS solution to Banks envisaging to function as operating unit in the Bharat Bill Payments System (BBPS) in adherence to the standards set by the Central Unit – NPCI. The solution comprises of an application for setting up customer touch points to handle bill payments through different delivery channels, including self-service, Agent assisted, electronic and offline modes. An API interface integrates the system with the central unit of BBPS – NPCI. Bharat Bill Payment System (BBPS) is an RBI mandated, centralized and interoperable bill payment system that allows a customer to pay bills online as well as offlineacross geographies with certainty, reliability and safety of transaction. BBPS is a common platform to pay various utility bills like electricity, water, gas, telephone and direct-to-home (DTH) television service, etc. from a single website or outlet using multiple payment modes like Net banking, credit cards, debit cards, e-wallets, and even by cash in case of offline mode, and get instant confirmation.

WHO IS AN AGENT INSTITUTION? Agent Institutions are the entities who are currently in the bill payment, collection and aggregation business and have not got in-principal approval from RBI or have not applied for the same. Entities who currently offer or who wish to offer bill payment service to its customers through physical (agents, bank-branches, business correspondents etc.) or digital channels (website, Internet-banking, mobile-app, KIOSK, ATM etc.) All the entities, who have not received in-principle authorisation from Reserve Bank of India to act as a BBPOU or who have not applied may be eligible to become an Agent Institution under the BBPS scheme These are the entities that could be on-boarded in the BBPS ecosystem by entities called as BBPOUs.

1 DTH National Dish TV 2 DTH National Tata Sky Ltd 3 DTH National SUN Direct 4 Electricity Maharashtra Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Co. Ltd. 5 Electricity Andhra Pradesh Southern Power Distribution Company of Andhra Pradesh Ltd. 6 Electricity Delhi TATA Power North Delhi Power Limited 7 Electricity Andhra Pradesh Eastern Power Distribution Company of Andhra Pradesh Ltd. 8 Electricity Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Paschim Kshetra Vidyut Vitaran Company Ltd. 9 Electricity Rajasthan Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited 10 Electricity Gujarat Torrent Power 11 Electricity West Bengal Calcutta Electricity Supply Corporation 12 Electricity Maharashtra Reliance Energy Ltd.- Mumbai 13 Electricity Delhi BSES Rajdhani Power Limited 14 Electricity Uttarakhand Uttarakhand Power Corporation Ltd 15 Electricity Delhi BSES Yamuna Power Limited 16 Electricity Odisha North Eastern Electricity Supply Company of Orissa Limited 17 Electricity Odisha Southern Electricity Supply Company Of Orissa Limited 18 Electricity Maharashtra SNDL Nagpur 19 Electricity Meghalaya Meghalay 31 Electricity Rajasthan Tata Power Ajmer 32 Electricity Bihar North Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd. 33 Electricity Bihar South Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd. 34 Electricity Gujarat Paschim Gujarat Vij Company Ltd. 35 Electricity Gujarat Uttar Gujarat Vij Company Ltd. 36 Electricity Gujarat Madhya Gujarat Vij Company Ltd. 37 Electricity Gujarat Dakshin Gujarat Vij Company Ltd 38 Electricity Dadra & Nagar Haveli Dadar & Nagar Haveli Urja Vitaran Nigam Limited 39 Electricity Maharashtra BEST Undertaking 40 Electricity Odisha WESCO 41 Electricity Chattisgarh Chhattisgarh State Power Distribution Company Ltd. 42 Electricity Rajasthan Ajmer Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited 43 Electricity Rajasthan Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited 44 Electricity Karnataka Gulbarga Electricity Supply Company 45 Electricity Tamil Nadu Tamil Nadu Generation and Distribution Corporation Ltd 46 Electricity Assam Assam Power Distribution Company Ltd (3) 47 Electricity Karnataka Banglore Electricity Supply Company 48 Electricity Uttar Pradesh Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation-Rural 49 Electricity Haryana Uttar Haryana Bijli Vitran Nigam Limited 50 Electricity Haryana Dakshin Haryana Bijli Vitran Nigam Limited 51 Electricity Punjab Punjab State Power Corporation Limited (5) 52 Electricity Jharkand Jharkand Bijli Vitran Nigam Ltd 53 Electricity Karnataka Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Company 54 Electricity Karnataka Hubli Electricity Supply Company 55 Gas Maharashtra Mahanagar Gas Ltd. 56 Gas Gujarat Gujarat Gas Ltd. 57 Gas Delhi IndraPrastha Gas Ltd. 58 Gas Multiple States Adani Gas Ltd. 59 Gas Haryana Siti Energy 60 Gas Tripura Tripura Natural Gas Ltd 61 Gas Haryana Haryana Gas Distribution Ltd 62 Gas Gujarat Sabarmati Gas 63 Gas Gujarat Vadodara Gas 64 Gas Maharashtra Unique Central Piped Gas 65 Telecom-Landline National BSNL Landline 66 Telecom-Landline National MTNL Landline 67 Telecom-Postpaid National Vodafone Postpaid 68 Telecom-Postpaid National Idea Cellular Postpaid 69 Telecom-Postpaid National BSNL Postpaid 70 Telecom-Postpaid National Aircel Postpaid 71 Telecom-Broadband National Tikona 72 Telecom-Broadband National Connect Broadband 73 Telecom-Broadband National Hathway Broadband 74 Water Delhi Delhi Jal Board 75 Water Uttrakhand Uttrakhand Jal Sansthan 76 Water Rajasthan Urban Improvement Trust- Bhiwadi 77 Water Delhi Municipal Corporation of Gurugram